Deadline Extended - Nominations for Sustainable Princeton's Annual Leadership Awards

2012Awardees-websize Know someone that embodied sustainable behavior and action in the workplace, at school, in the government or at home this past year?  Sustainable Princeton and the Princeton Environmental Commission (PEC) are seeking nominations of local leaders who have advanced sustainability in Princeton.

“In 2014, Princeton was named the Sustainability Leader in the state by Sustainable Jersey because of the tremendous progress we have made in every sector of our community.  I would like to thank the countless volunteers, residents, municipal employees, business owners and educators who have helped our town reduce waste to landfills and reduce energy from fossil fuels this past year. I look forward to an increase in our local sustainability award nominations as a result of all their hard work,” says Matthew Wasserman, Chair of Sustainable Princeton and the PEC.

Please submit nominations to Sustainable Princeton by Friday, January 9th, 2015. To nominate an individual or an organization, we must receive the following contact information in an email to “”:

  • Name, email, phone number and address of nominee
  • Name, email, phone number, and address of person nominating
  • Specific information about why this individual or organization is being nominated based on how they have addressed one or more of the following criteria:
  • Protected and improved the natural environment
  • Reduced waste and/or increased recycling
  • Conserved energy; used energy more efficiently; and used alternative energy sources
  • Educated others about sustainable behavior
  • Met Princeton’s needs around diversity and social justice fairly
  • Contributed to our community’s economic well-being

Now in its eighth year, the award program’s awardees last year included:

•     Christopher Albrecht, former Executive Chef, Terra Momo

•     Bill Cirullo, Principal of Riverside Elementary School (Distinguished Service Award)

•     Lauren Gully, Student, Princeton Theological Seminary

•     Callie Hancock, Princeton Chapter of The Citizens Climate Lobby

•     Sandra Moskovitz, Co-Chair, Go Green Committee, Community Park School

•     Mountain Lakes Holding Corporation

•     Princeton Academy of the Sacred Heart

•     Kurt Tazelaar and Sally Curtis, Friends of Herrontown Woods

•     Anthony Teng, Student, Princeton High School

•     Gail Ullman, Princeton Environmental Commission (Distinguished Service Award)

A review committee comprised of community volunteers will make selections in mid January. Awards will be presented on Thursday, January 29th from 7:00 to 9:00 p.m. at the Princeton Public Library. The ceremony is free and open to the public.